Four Years

Today I launch my site, The Beginning After Project, symbolically on May 3, 2010.  It has been exactly four years since my dear friend, Austin, took his own life in Afghanistan.  

It has taken me four years to come out from under the weight of my own grief to do something productive, and here it is.  My hope is that others will submit their work to be posted as original content.  But, after four years, I am just so proud and satisfied to finally create something in honor of Austin. This is also in honor of all the people who loved him greatly, who felt the enormous emptiness after losing him, who continue to power through those feelings every day to see the sun rise and set, to create beautiful and meaningful lives for themselves.  There is life after death, although it is sometimes difficult to realize it.  There is the beginning after the end. 

Leave a Reply

